Girls in 3’s are as dangerous as anything…

*This post was taken from my tumblr – written in March 2013 when I was taking a class about clinical and counselling psychology. However it is still super relevant as far as my experiences go.

Today I was reminded of an important lesson I learned early in life, which is that girls are horrible in groups of three’s. Yes this seems silly, but it’s true. I don’t know what happens in these groups, I’ve never really been in one. I also don’t understood why having 3 people is so key to the group horribleness (they are usually fine one on one), but they manage to turn on people and can get pretty vicious about it.

In psychology there is a stereotype that we are all trying to analyze everyone around us, but the fact of the matter is that this is untrue for the majority of psychology students. I honestly have better things to do with my time. However, there are a few that think they can and that do go around diagnosing people with things (no degree needed apparently). Even their friends that they hangout with and see everyday are not safe from this, especially if you are a friend outside of the unholy trinity of girls.

Today in class the unholy trinity that I speak of wrote up a list of “symptoms” of a friend, and gave them to our clinical professor and asked him to tell them what is “wrong” with the person. They also gave details from the persons personal life and divulged their name. There were still many people left in the class gathering their belongings that might  know the person (since it is a small university). The professor, who is also a clinical psychologist, actually answered their questions and wanted more details.

Needless to say I think this is extremely inappropriate on both the students and professors part. I could see that maybe in a very misguided way they were trying to help, but I can’t be sure. I feel dirty having associated with these people, and quite frankly wonder who they haven’t done this to. At least I know who I will never tell a secret to…
Also friends don’t go to clinical professors to ask about friends. Period.

Leave a Reply

